Tags

, ,

I am set on the idea that I will make my own bridal headpiece and I have been Bridal Fourteenscouring for inspiration. Fascinators have really stepped into the limelight recently as an alternative to the traditional headpiece and veil . Waaaay back in the day when I got married the first time, traditional was “the way it was done” yet I wanted to wear a cocktail hat with a birdcage veil.  There was really nothing of the sort available at that time and I just capitulated to the norm.

Now every bridal salon has a full wall displaying Russian or French net fascinators (in those” long a go” times I didn’t even know the name of the headpiece that I desired ) and there is no end of selection online.
Bridal Seven

While I do enjoy the sass of a plucky feather I think that it is just a little too much with the dress that I have chosen and I run the risk of looking like I am dressing for Halloween rather than my wedding day. My thoughts are leaning towards a more traditional, era appropriate fifties headpiece. I want it to incorporate lace to jibe with my dress but I just can’t give up the netting.

click for diy

click for diy

click for tutorial

Bridal Four

There are some really lovely lace headpieces out there without netting and I am thinking that with a bit of tweaking they might be just the thing. After a lot of looking I managed to find some decent lace at the thrift store. Who knew that finding the lace would be the most difficult part? Craft store, fabric store, no luck!

Next came starching research…I went with the spray on starch method but didn’t find it nearly stiff enough to form the way that I wanted so will use a traditional glue method next.

Bridal TwoI researched a few different methods and so far found this link the most helpful.

http://www.brighthub.com/environment/green-living/articles/104910.aspx

Crochet was of course an option and off I went to find cotton thread (something I have never worked with before).  As flowers were a fave for a long time I had a few patterns floating around in my head so played around  to see what I could come up with.  I wasn’t sure that the result  was fancy enough but,  lo and behold found the identical cotton Irish Rose on a simple white ribbon hairband at the bridal store. Who knew?

Click on photo for pattern

click for pattern

click for pattern

click for pattern

easy diy

easy diy

click for tutorial

I have a couple peony type flowers that I picked up and will be playing with them next.  Maybe start with designing the “base” of the headpiece, get the tone right and then add the lace? netting?  Besides, I have no netting at the present time. There is NOTHING like that in the craft or fabric stores around here and that will have to be an online purchase.

