Tags

, , ,

https://i1.wp.com/www.chicaandjo.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/chica_and_jo__pattern_for_reusable_shopping_bag.png

Click on photo to link to pattern

My sister Jen is sewing one of her very first projects! She found a re-usable bag pattern that is very beginner friendly with detailed photos and instructions of every step of the process.

Re-usable is all the rage in my oh so eco friendly city and I see more and more examples of something a little stylish in the grocery store. I use my bags to tote my paraphernalia back and forth from work and I am thinking that something as pretty and cheerful as this one that Jen is making is a definite step up from my collection of random grocery store logo bags….

bag (2)

Pattern pieces ready to sew. It is cut all in one with the handles. Easy!

Jen used an old pattern to create the pattern pieces for this..she is a clever girl… I have an abundance of cotton fabric that I was fortunate to be given (more than I will every use!) so I will often use some of that to create my patterns. Especially if it is something that I plan to make again.

Choosing fabric is such a fun part of a sewing project. I could wander the fabric store for hours just admiring fabric. For a project like this choose something that makes you smile when you see it….I mean, anything that helps with making a chore more fun, right?

Also, you might want to practice what your humble face should look like for the compliments that you will receive on this easy do it yourself!

Doe anyone have a favourite pattern or tutorial for beginners to suggest? I will pass them on to my sis…..

