Tags

, , , , , ,

I pared down some of the decorations on my Christmas tree this year (they were a little old and sad) and overall was happy with the less cluttered branches look….yet, it somehow it felt just a little naked.DSCF1196

While actively avoiding starting the Christmas apron sewing process, I decided that something must be done about the tree. How could any Christmas projects be started until the tree issue had been resolved? Well, they just couldn’t and that was that.

Stars! That was the answer. Crocheted stars. Off to the computer to research I went. And discovered that stars just didn’t do it for me. Most of the patterns for stars were not as crisply pointed or defined as I wanted. Too soft and roundish.

But stars lead me to snowflakes and snowflakes led me to my next project. I would crochet all manner of different patterned snowflakes for my naked tree. Just like in nature. Ah….yeah, let me save you the time.DSCF1161

Some look much better than others. Especially as I was using yarn not cotton thread (hey, it’s what I had and I wanted these things worked up fast!). And fast they were…this is a PERFECT sit in front of the t.v. project. I hung them on the tree as they were completed and just made them until it looked “dressed”.

I used a sport weight baby yarn with a silver thread running through it and 3.25mm hook. That’s a US D/3. (it’s like a secret code, can’t countries get along enough to standardize hook sizes?).

End of story: I didn’t get to avoid my Christmas sewing projects for long because this is really quick. But, more importantly, my tree is now fully garbed!

The pattern that I have included was by far the quickest with the most defined shape and this was important to me, I was very against white “snowflakelike” blobs.  Another fun use for these would be as part of a Christmas gift wrap.

Snowflake Instructions:

Ch 5. Insert your hook into the 1st ch worked (the 5th ch from your hook) and work a sl st to form a ring.

Round 1: Work 12 sc sts in ring. Join the work to the beg of the round with a sl st.

Round 2: Work 2 sc into each sc all the way around. You’ll end up with a total of 24 sc sts. Sl st to join the work to the 1st sc worked in the round.

Round 3: [sl st in next sc, 1 sc in ea of next 2 sc, sl st in next sc] Work sequence in brackets 5 more times. You’ll end up with a total of 12 sc sts in the round. Join with a sl st to first st in the round.

Round 4: [sl st in next sl st, sl st in next sc, ch 3, 2 dc in next sc, ch 3, sl st in next sl st.] Work sequence in brackets 5 more times for a total of 6.

 DSCF1201

Round 5: [skip all sl sts. Work 3 sc sts into the space formed underneath of the ch-3 in the previous round. ch 3, dc in next dc, ch 3, sl st in 3rd ch from hook, dc in next dc, ch 3, 3 sc in next ch-3 sp.] Repeat sequence in brackets 5 more times, for a total of 6 times. At end of round, sl st to join the work to the 1st sc st worked at the beg of the round.

End off. Weave in loose ends. If you crocheted your snowflake using thread or yarn that responds well to blocking, i.e. cotton or wool, block the snowflake. If you used synthetic yarn such as acrylic, there is no need for blocking.

There are many, many snowflake patterns available free online. Next post will be a link to the ones that I collected.

